Metros bounce back for third-place finish

DES MOINES — The Sioux City Metros placed third in the Iowa High School Hockey League state tournament Sunday by defeating Des Moines Hoover-Roosevelt, 6-2.

The state title was won by top-ranked and league champion Waterloo Columbus, which was forced into overtime before outlasting Waterloo Public, 4-3.

Five of the six Metro goals were either short-handed (2) or power play (3).

The Sioux Cityans, finishing a strong 12-9 season after a slow start, jumped into a 4-0 lead and were never seriously threatened.

Clay Wiffen scored a short-handed goal at 6:50 and Pat Pinney ripped in a power play shot at 11:28 to give the Sloux Cityans a 2-0 edge after one period. The Metros then hiked their advantage to 4-0 in the second before the Hoover-Roosevelt team got on the board. Brent Hartman struck at 4:23 of the second and Mark Adam reached the net at 10:42 on another power play.

Des Moines' Alfi Driscoll finally beat goalie Jamie Lempares at 12:07 of the second before Brad Hansen made it a 5-1 game on a power play just 39 seconds later.

The teams traded third period goals with Des Moines' Wendell Griess connecting at 0:41 and John Roost of the Metros near the end of the game (14:38) on the second short-handed goal of the day.

Hartman and Pinney enjoyed three-point days, each assisting twice in addition to their first-period goals. Wiffen had one assist and one goal and Mats Hansson a pair of assists. Even goalie Lempares got into the act with an assist on Hartman's goal.

Wiffen was named to the All-State first team, Hansson to the third team and Hartman to the honorable mention.

The Walt Johnson-coached Metros got off to a 1-5 start through Dec. 13 before turning it around. They were 5-5 on Jan. 24 and advanced above the .500 mark for the first time the next day following a 9-3 romp over Ames.

The Metros, entering the state event with a 10-8 mark, defeated West Des Moines Valley 4-3 Friday in a first-round thriller involving a shootoff before dropping a 3-0 semifinal game to Columbus.

Summary

First period: 1, Sioux City-Clayton Wiffen (unassisted) 6:50. 2, Sioux City-Pat Pinney (Mats Hansson, Wiffen 11:28. Penalties: Batcheller, SC, 6:04: Sal, DM, 7:52; Wheeler, DM, 7:54; Baker, SC, 7:54; Hansen, SC, 9:31; Sutherland, DM, 11:29; Edwards, DM, 13:21.

Second period: 3. Sloux City—Brent Hartman (Pinney, Jamie Lempares) 4:32.4. Sloux City—Mark Adam (Pinney, Hansson) 10:42.5, Des Moines—Atti Driscol (Wendell Griess, Jerl Wilson) 12:76. 6, Sloux City—Brad Hansen (Pete Baker, Hartman) 12:46. Penalties: Edwards, DM, 2:32.4 (Hotznichter, SC, 2:34; Long, DM, 10:06; Hansen, SC, 10:34; Wheeler, DM, 10:34; Wilson, DM, 12:28.

Third period: 7. Des Moines-Griess (Bill Mulstay) 0:41 8, Sloux City-John Roost (Hartman, Holzrichter) 14:38. Penalties: Wilson, DM, 1:46: Adam, SC, 439: Lohry, SC, 642; Wilson, DM, 8:11: Edwards, DM, 11:11 (minor, misconduct); Baker, SC, 11:11 (minor, misconduct); Long, DM, 1:22; Pinney, SC, 12:12 (minor, game misconduct); Wilson, DM, 12:12; Kieler, SC, 12:12 (minor, game misconduct); Saf, DM, 12:12 (game misconduct); Holzrichter, SC, 15:00.

Score by periods:

Des Moines Sioux City Shots on goal:	 •	•••	• •	 	 •		 	 	.0			26	
Des Moines Sioux City									7 11			16 33	